UHDALogoMembers of the multi-industry Ultra HD Alliance formally released at a pre-CES 2016 press conference Monday a new logo program for products determined to be “Ultra HD Premium” TVs capable of presenting 4K resolution, high dynamic range and a wide color gamut.

The standard and logo program also applies to content that Hollywood studios will be supplying to support the new TVs via forthcoming Ultra HD Blu-ray players; streaming OTT services; Internet download services; multi-channel video providers and other distributors.

The Alliance also revealed for the first time specifications for what it has determined to be minimum brightness and black levels for high dynamic range (HDR), among other things.

For more on the UHDA’s logo program and specifications, hit the jump:

The logo program was intended to define performance parameters for content and devices; ensure compliance through a certification program for content and devices; and certify content and devices, identified by a logo.

A TV is determined to be an “Ultra HD Premium” TV if it meets the Alliance’s specifications for: image resolution; high dynamic range; color bit depth and color palette (wide color gamut).

The UHD Alliance supports various display technologies and consequently, has defined combinations of parameters to ensure a premium experience across a wide range of devices. In order to receive the UHD Alliance Premium Logo, the device must meet or exceed the following specifications:

To qualify as an Ultra HD Premium TV, a display must have image resolution of 3840×2160 pixels; color bit depth to read a 10-bit signal; a Wide Color Gamut; signal input support for BT.2020 color representation and the ability to display more than 90% of the Digital Cinema Initiative’s P3 color space; support for high dynamic range (HDR) conforming to the SMPTE ST2085 EOTF; a combination of peak brightness and black level either more than 1,000 nits of peak brightness or more than 540 nits of peak brightness and less than 0.0005 nits of black level.

2015 4K UHD and HDTVs

Amazon’s Top Rated TVs

Today’s Amazon Deals

Panasonic Black Friday Deals

Best Selling Soundbars and 5.1 Surround Systems

Best Selling Blu-ray Players

Best Buy’s Hottest Deals

In effect, the standard made two sets of allowances for different display technologies – namely 4K Ultra HD LED LCD TVs, which can achieve brightness levels of 1,000 nits or more and 4K Ultra HD Organic Light Emitting Diode (OLED) displays that start at nearly perfect black levels and work up.

On the content side: UHDA certified 4K Ultra HD Premium Content must have a resolution of 3840×2160; minimum 10-bit signal depth; BT.2020 color representation; SMPTE ST2084 EOTF with mastering displays recommended to exceed 1,000 nits in brightness; less than 0.03 nits of black level and a minimum of the DCI-P3 color space.

As many as a dozen new TVs conforming to the new UHDA logo program are expected to be introduced by manufacturers at this week’s CES 2016 in Las Vegas.

By Greg Tarr


Have a question for the HD Guru? HD GURU|Email

Copyright ©2015 HD Guru Inc. All rights reserved. HD GURU is a registered trademark.